Skip to content


Namespace: ThinkGeo.Core

Units describing various ways you can measure areas.

public enum AreaUnit

Inheritance ObjectValueTypeEnumAreaUnit
Implements IComparable, IFormattable, IConvertible


Area units are most commonly used when calling APIs that measure areas. Regardless of the unit of measure your shapes are in, many of our APIs allow you to specify what unit of measure you want the result of the method call to be in. For example, you may have a PolygonShape whose points are in decimal degrees; however, you want to know the area in square miles. This is easy to accomplish. Simply call the GetArea method on the PolygonShape, passing in the first parameter of decimal degrees (which defines what unit the shape is in), and then square miles as the area unit you would like the result to be in.


Name Value Description
Acres 0 Acres
SquareMeters 1 Square Meters
Hectares 2 Hectares
SquareFeet 3 Square Feet
SquareKilometers 4 Square Kilometers
SquareMiles 5 Square Miles
SquareUsSurveyFeet 6 Square US Survey Feet
SquareYards 7 Square Yards